SUMMER SALE

20% off selected homecook and professional courses this July & August

Use code SUMMER22 at checkout. Click here for more details.

Summary Recipe Writing with Jennifer Joyce

Would you like to be the author of that treasured cookbook, the one that is passed from friend to friend, becoming ever more dog-eared? Or would you like to see your food blog grow in popularity, with strangers cooking your recipes and sharing the pictures?

If so, you’ll feel challenged and inspired on our recipe writing class, led by prolific recipe writer Jennifer Joyce.

During this interactive, hands-on, entertaining day, you’ll learn how the professionals write good recipes; explaining difficult cookery techniques to their readers and developing new dishes without plagiarising other recipes.

You’ll need to write a wok recipe before the class as you will be handing it to your classmate to cook, and watching to see how they get on. This invaluable exercise will help you put yourself in your readers’ shoes; you don’t want them wondering which pan they should be adding the stock to, so you must be clear! It also means lunch is sorted.

You’ll also learn the best ways to pitch your recipes to websites, magazines and publishers, and how to best use social media platforms.

The course will be led by Jennifer Joyce, author of ten successful cookbooks including My Asian Kitchen, Meals in Heels and My Street Food Kitchen. Jennifer is a regular contributor to Waitrose Kitchen, BBC Good Food and Sainsbury's Magazine and is known for cooking vibrant international food with a certain joie de vivre. Students will finish the day feeling confident in their ability to conceptualise, develop, write and edit recipes, eager to put their new skills to good use.

Using a voucher to pay for this course? Before purchasing a class or course, you’ll need to validate your voucher by clicking here and entering your unique code. This will add the value of the voucher to your account. Please call us on 0208 749 6400 if you need any help.

Allergies and dietary restrictions

Please call the school to discuss any relevant allergies with a member of staff. You can read our full policy on allergies and dietary restrictions here.

What you'll learn Recipe Writing with Jennifer Joyce

  • How to write a great recipe
  • Pitfalls to avoid
  • How to avoid plagiarism
  • How to improve your recipe once you have seen someone cook it
  • Further practical exercises, including writing another recipe and receiving feedback from your peers
  • How to write for different audiences
  • How to pitch to magazines and publisher
  • How to write for different social media platforms


Practical info Recipe Writing with Jennifer Joyce

Essential information:

  • While no cooking experience is necessarily required, you will be doing a small amount of cooking, so some familiarity with basic cookery will be helpful.

What you need to bring:

  • A notebook and pen or pencil
  • Flat soled shoes, long trousers and a long sleeved top are advisable for the cooking session.

Allergies and dietary restrictions:

We are happy to make adjustments where possible. Some classes are however unsuitable for people with particular intolerances – where the menu would need to be completely different. We need 10 days' notice to be able to properly check the class and adjust the order accordingly. Please read our full policy on allergies and dietary restrictions here.

Jennifer Joyce

Jennifer Joyce

Jennifer Joyce, an American food writer, stylist and chef living long-term in London has written several successful cookbooks for the US and UK markets and is a regular contributor to Olive Magazine, BBC Good Food and Sainsbury's magazine. She has appeared in food TV shows in both the UK and the States. She is known for her fresh, healthy, and easy food with vibrancy and a certain joie de vivre.

* All prices correct at time of publishing. Please note that prices are likely to change at the end of each financial year (April).

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Evening Course

    £3,800 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Sat 1 Oct - Wed 7 Dec 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 1 Oct 2022
      09.30-13.00
    • Mon 3 Oct 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 5 Oct 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 10 Oct 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 12 Oct 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 17 Oct 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 19 Oct 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 22 Oct 2022
      09.30-13.00
    • Mon 24 Oct 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 26 Oct 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 31 Oct 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 2 Nov 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 7 Nov 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 9 Nov 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 14 Nov 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 16 Nov 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 21 Nov 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 23 Nov 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 26 Nov 2022
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 28 Nov 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 30 Nov 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 5 Dec 2022
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 7 Dec 2022
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Sat 7 Jan - Wed 15 Mar 2023 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 7 Jan 2023
      09.30-13.00
    • Mon 9 Jan 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 11 Jan 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 16 Jan 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 18 Jan 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 23 Jan 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 25 Jan 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 28 Jan 2023
      09.30-13.00
    • Mon 30 Jan 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 1 Feb 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 6 Feb 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 8 Feb 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 13 Feb 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 15 Feb 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 20 Feb 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 22 Feb 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 27 Feb 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 1 Mar 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 4 Mar 2023
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 6 Mar 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 8 Mar 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 13 Mar 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 15 Mar 2023
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Sat 22 Apr - Thu 29 Jun 2023 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 22 Apr 2023
      09.30-13.00
    • Tue 25 Apr 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 27 Apr 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 2 May 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 4 May 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 9 May 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 11 May 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 13 May 2023
      09.30-13.00
    • Tue 16 May 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 18 May 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 23 May 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 25 May 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 30 May 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 1 Jun 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 6 Jun 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 8 Jun 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 13 Jun 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 15 Jun 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 17 Jun 2023
      09.30-15.00
    • Tue 20 Jun 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 22 Jun 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Tue 27 Jun 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Thu 29 Jun 2023
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Sat 30 Sep - Wed 6 Dec 2023 Show session dates/times
    • Sat 30 Sep 2023
      09.30-13.00
    • Mon 2 Oct 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 4 Oct 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 9 Oct 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 11 Oct 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 16 Oct 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 18 Oct 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 21 Oct 2023
      09.30-13.00
    • Mon 23 Oct 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 25 Oct 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 30 Oct 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 1 Nov 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 6 Nov 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 8 Nov 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 13 Nov 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 15 Nov 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 20 Nov 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 22 Nov 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Sat 25 Nov 2023
      09.30-15.00
    • Mon 27 Nov 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 29 Nov 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Mon 4 Dec 2023
      18.30-21.30
    • Wed 6 Dec 2023
      18.30-21.30
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...