Leiths Diploma in Food & Wine Open Evening 7 June 2022 Join us in person for our professional courses open evening, from Diploma to Part-time & Short Pro courses. Tues 7 June.
Click here to sign up.

Lamb Hot Pot

/ Categories Recipes, #LeithsDiplomaLife / Author:

Lamb Hot Pot

Photography by diploma student, Bex Staunton

From our students' homes to yours. Our #leithsdiplomalife Home Edition recipe series is a celebration of simplicity, inspired by family style cooking.

When your family is from a melting pot of Yorkshire and the Midlands, the family recipes aren’t as vibrant and exotic as some. But this winter warmer hits the spot when the weather outside is that kind of wet-faced drizzle and the news has just hit about staying indoors again for the worst months of the year.

This recipe, passed down on my mother’s side of the family for several generations, has only been tweaked slightly each time, so this is my version with some added accompaniments and minor culinary school refinement.

Ingredients

Serves 4

For the hotpot
4 medium Maris Piper potatoes
4 carrots
1 large onion
4 cloves garlic
2 tbsp oil
3 large or 4 small lamb leg steaks (approx. 600g)
500ml beef stock (or lamb if you have it)
Splash red wine vinegar (if needed to deglaze)
1 sprig of rosemary
1 bay leaf
5g butter and 5g flour for beurre manie (knead the flour and butter together with your fingers in a small bowl until a thick paste forms)
Salt and black pepper

For the pickled onion
1 large red onion
150ml cider vinegar
100ml water
1 ½ tbsp sugar
½ tsp mustard seeds
½ tsp coriander seeds
½ tsp black peppercorns
2 cloves
1 small dried chilli

For the mint sauce
1 bunch of mint
½ tbsp sugar
4 tbsp boiling water
5 tbsp cider vinegar

Instructions

Lamb Hotpot

  1. Prepare the vegetables: Peel the potatoes and slice or mandolin into 5mm thick rounds. Set aside in a bowl of water. Peel and cut the carrots into 2cm thick rounds. Thinly slice the onion and crush the cloves of garlic.
  2. Prepare the meat: Remove any sinew and dice the lamb into 2cm cubes. Season with salt and pepper and brown the meat in a casserole pot with 1tbsp oil. This can be done in batches, deglazing the pan with red wine vinegar in between, reserving the liquor for later.
  3. Preheat your oven to 200°C.
  4. Set the browned meat aside and sweat the onions in the same casserole pot with 1 tbsp oil and the lid on, until soft. Then add the garlic and fry for 1 minute. Add the carrots, ¾ the beef stock, the reserved pan liquor and then the beurre manie to thicken. Add the browned meat and herbs to the pot and pour over the last of the beef stock to ensure all is covered.
  5. Layer the potatoes over the top and season with salt and pepper. Add the cartouche and lid and cook in the oven at 200°C for 30 minutes, before turning down to 150°C for the following 60 minutes. NB: it will need a further 30 minutes in step 9 below.
  6. Make the pickled onion: Combine the pickle ingredients in a saucepan and bring to the boil before allowing to cool.
  7. Make the mint sauce: Cross chop the mint finely and combine in a bowl with the other sauce ingredients. Set aside until plating.
  8. After the hotpot has cooked at 150°C for 60 minutes, remove the lid of the pot and the cartouche, increase the oven temperature to 200°C and cook for a final 30 minutes. This is to crisp up the top of the potatoes.
  9. Serve the hotpot with pickled onions and mint sauce on top.

You might also be interested in...

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

Essential Cooking Certificate: Daytime Course

    £3,550 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Wed 17 Aug - Tue 13 Sep 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Wed 17 Aug 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Thu 18 Aug 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Fri 19 Aug 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Mon 22 Aug 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Tue 23 Aug 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Wed 24 Aug 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Thu 25 Aug 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Fri 26 Aug 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Tue 30 Aug 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Wed 31 Aug 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Thu 1 Sep 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Fri 2 Sep 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Mon 5 Sep 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Tue 6 Sep 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Wed 7 Sep 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Thu 8 Sep 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Fri 9 Sep 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Mon 12 Sep 2022
      09.45-16.00
    • Tue 13 Sep 2022
      09.45-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 26 Sep - Wed 30 Nov 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 26 Sep 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 28 Sep 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 3 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 5 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 10 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 12 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 17 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 19 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 24 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 26 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 31 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 2 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 7 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 9 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 14 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 16 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 21 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 23 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 28 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Wed 30 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 17 Apr - Tue 20 Jun 2023 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 17 Apr 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 18 Apr 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 24 Apr 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 25 Apr 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 2 May 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Sat 6 May 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 8 May 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 9 May 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 15 May 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 16 May 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 22 May 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 23 May 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 29 May 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 30 May 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 5 Jun 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 6 Jun 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 12 Jun 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 13 Jun 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 19 Jun 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 20 Jun 2023
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Mon 25 Sep - Tue 28 Nov 2023 Show session dates/times
    • Mon 25 Sep 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 26 Sep 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 2 Oct 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 3 Oct 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 9 Oct 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 10 Oct 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 16 Oct 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 17 Oct 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 23 Oct 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 24 Oct 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 30 Oct 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 31 Oct 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 6 Nov 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 7 Nov 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 13 Nov 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 14 Nov 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 20 Nov 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 21 Nov 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Mon 27 Nov 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 28 Nov 2023
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...