SUMMER SALE

20% off selected homecook and professional courses this July & August

Use code SUMMER22 at checkout. Click here for more details.

Gut-loving Probiotic Chia Pudding

/ Categories Alumni, Nutrition and Healthy Eating / Author:

Gut-loving Probiotic Chia Pudding

Looking for a healthy super speedy cereal alternative?

This sweet, creamy and delicious breakfast takes a mere 5 minutes to prep and is so easy that even my 5 year old can make it all by himself. It is just about as nutritious a breakfast as you can get and can be made the day before, so in the usually crazy manic mornings, it is as quick and easy as simply spooning it into a bowl. One portion provides 302 calories, 13g of protein (the same as 2 eggs) and a massive 15g of fibre, which is over 50% of the daily recommended amount! Not to mention it provides 135% of my calcium and 15% of my daily iron.

I have used Kefir in this recipe which is a pourable cultured yogurt drink that contains gut-friendly bacteria and is a great addition to your diet. There are dairy-free kefir options available too if you have an intolerance. The mighty little chia seed has a range of nutritional benefits like being a great source of plant-based Omega 3s, soluble fibre and protein.

Ingredients

Serves 4

Probiotic Chia Pudding
500ml Kefir (I use Biotiful which is organic and unsweetened)
5 tbsp chia seeds
1-2 tbsp maple syrup (to taste)

Berry Chia Jam
300g frozen berries
3 tbsp chia seeds
1-2 tsp sugar of your choice depending on how sweet/tart the berries are
A squeeze of lemon

Instructions

  1. For the chia pudding, simply add all of the ingredients together and leave to thicken for 5-10 mins while you prep the berry jam (I usually make the night before).
  2. Serve with the berry chia jam and a sprinkle of granola on top.
  3. For the chia jam, put the frozen berries into a medium saucepan with a splash of water at the bottom.
  4. Gently heat over a low-medium heat until soft.
  5. Remove from the heat and mash.
  6. Sprinkle in the chia seeds, sugar and a squeeze of lemon.
  7. Mix well and leave for 5 mins to thicken.

Author: Emily Wright

You might also be interested in...

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation (Daytime Course)

Nutrition in Culinary Practice: The Accreditation (Daytime Course)

    £3,630 (£400.00 deposit)

  • Tue 27 Sep - Tue 6 Dec 2022 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 27 Sep 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 4 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 11 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 18 Oct 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 1 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 8 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 15 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 22 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 29 Nov 2022
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 6 Dec 2022
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
  • Tue 10 Jan - Tue 21 Mar 2023 Show session dates/times
    • Tue 10 Jan 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 17 Jan 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 24 Jan 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 31 Jan 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 7 Feb 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 21 Feb 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 28 Feb 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 7 Mar 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 14 Mar 2023
      10.00-16.00
    • Tue 21 Mar 2023
      10.00-16.00
    PLACES AVAILABLE - BOOK NOW
Close

Loading course information...